top of page
  • spirsuhydmanitor

Gears of War 3D Models: Tips and Tricks for Rendering and Animation



At the end of this fellowship, I learned so much, I want to learn even more. I can make simple VR content in Unity and 3D model in Blender. Moreover, I can do drone photogrammetry and build 3d models out of it. In addition to what I have learned, I would like to learn making VR content in Unreal Engine, which is a bit more powerful and more options for VR. I hope IT and ET will continue working with VR and allow students to work/play with it more.




gears of war 3d models



After the second week, there were three reasons why I decided to go with the more tedious route and why you should too. The first reason was the distortions close up. Photogrammetry models always looked good from a distance but up close they usually became blurry and distorted where the photographs were lacking. This would be especially visible in VR when the user is at a ground level height looking up at a model that is filled with blurry colors and distortions. While this may be useful in some kind of background setting, it would look very sloppy to use these models in your main scene. The second reason was the 2017 DTSF class already had 2 photogrammetry developers. Part of the program is to be useful to the college as a resource if needed, and my project would have been very similar to Ryan Gonzalez if I went the photogrammetry route, especially because he already modeled most of the large areas of campus. The final reason was the skill set I wanted to develop. Coming out of the summer I wanted to have the ability to create any virtual space I can dream of, something that is not possible with models based on things you take photos of.


After each of our base models were done, we began to go back and add more detail to the model. This included things such as benches, bleachers, banisters, etc. Once the specific model was made for each detailed furniture item, we then had to use the historical information Chris from the Spanish department found regarding how much furniture there was and where it was placed. Getting measurements to be as exact as possible was the most important part of this project. Especially because Hoang and I had to eventually combine our projects. This meant all of our measurements had to remain consistent between the two projects.


This summer I accomplished my goal of earning my FAA license as well as creating photogrammetry models and using a CNC machine to create wooden replicas of the models. I am even working with Gettysburg College on emergency protocol and flood management which was my stretch goal! However, I did not get to use the total station to double check my elevation levels as planned but that is completely okay!


I learned about various projects students and faculty have worked on including a bird ecology lab, empathy projects, GIS DEM mapping, and architectural construction of a library in virtual reality! It amazes me to see how all of the projects have come along including my own! This week I sent my orchard models to Tyler back in Gettysburg. Director Remy helped me edit my models in Meshmixer so that they would have a solid foundation stand before they were sent to the 3D printer. Tyler has informed us that the Orchard 3 model printed out very nicely.


Overall, my experience at the Hamilton conference was extremely positive and inspiring. I was even able to try on Hollow Lenses which incorporates augmented reality into creating games and such. I was so amazed! This week I worked on editing my previous three orchard models from Gettysburg as well as creating four new models from Hamilton College. Next week after my final presentation I will use my leftover time to create another model of the steepest terrain from Hamilton. I am very excited for what is to come!


I made more models of the tombstones in Blender in order to match different types of tombstones of Lincoln Cemetery. I found out that there so many types of tombstones and these pieces of rock are not cheap.


Pixologic Zbrush is a benchmark for organic modeling in Film and Videogames in the industry. Learn to work in Sculpting mode to create the most complex and detailed 3D models on the market. You will learn to design and model characters for different sectors that apply 3D. You will learn about human anatomy and sculpting techniques. From the initial idea to the sculpt, detailing, texturing and implementation. All of this applied to different styles such as cartoon, realism, creatures and any character you can imagine using all the techniques and keys used in the industry. 2ff7e9595c


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page